From copy to design, the process of creating good ads can be daunting. That’s why it helps to know the basics. In this month’s blog, the experts here at SAUCE are breaking down advertising terms and acronyms we use every day to help our clients effectively get their names out there. Find them below, and call us today with questions.
Commonly Used Advertising Terms and Acronyms
Essentially, this term means placing two different versions of an ad in the same place to see which one performs better. This method helps narrow down which elements your audience responds to so you can use them more in future ads.
Your budget per advertisement. For example, if you run an ad on Facebook for 10 days at $5 a day, your ad spend is $50.
The level of awareness a given customer has about you and your brand. In essence, increasing brand awareness is what advertising is all about.
Call to Action (CTA)
A callout within your ad that gets your audience to take some sort of action. Examples of CTAs: Call Now, Sign Up Today, Read More.
Click-Through Rate (CTR)
The percentage of people in your digital ad’s reach who click on it. The higher the CTR, the more successful your ad is—and the closer you are to your advertising goal, whether that’s boosting sales or traffic.
Every time someone acts on your CTA, whether that’s filling out a form or purchasing a product, it counts as a conversion. This term also ties into another one: conversion rate, or the number of people who view your ad divided by the number of conversions.
Cost Per Click (CPC)
The amount of money it costs to get someone to click on a given advertisement. For example, if five people click on your ad and you spent $10 placing it, the CPC for that ad is $2. Ideally, you want a low CPC, as that means you’re getting more bang for your advertising buck.
How many times your ad is shown to any given person.
The number of times your ad was served to potential customers. Impressions count regardless of whether those customers see or interact with the ad.
A keyword is a specific term used on websites or blogs to help boost SEO. For example, if you want to target users who search for “lawncare,” that would be a good keyword to include so that your content will show up in search results. You can also use a keyphrase—which acts the same as a keyword but consists of multiple words—for more specific targeting.
A type of model in which advertisers pay publishers based on how many ad clicks a campaign generates.
The number of people who saw your ad at least once.
Let SAUCE Take Care of Your Advertising Needs
Whether it’s knowing how to use these advertising terms or putting them to use, SAUCE has the experience and expertise to help you increase brand awareness and achieve your goals.
Call or contact us today to see how partnering with us can help you.